Adeeba Kamarulzaman of Malaysia announced as the first Asian President of IAS – the International AIDS Society

posted on

IAS has announced nine newly elected and three re-elected members to its Governing Council. Adeeba Kamarulzaman of Malaysia is the new IAS President and Sharon Lewin of Australia the President-Elect, with Jennifer Kates of the United States serving as Treasurer.

“The new members joining the IAS Governing Council add a great diversity of skills and experiences,” IAS President Adeeba Kamarulzaman said. “They will be pivotal in steering IAS into the future and dealing with a fast-changing scientific, social and political landscape. I am particularly happy to announce that, for the first time, our Governing Council is majority female with 13 women and 12 men.”

The Governing Council determines strategy and policy direction for IAS to ensure that the organization fulfils its mission of leading collective action on every front of the global HIV response.

“The HIV epidemic continues to require collaborative leadership across regions and disciplines that this Governing Council represents,” said IAS Executive Director, Kevin Osborne. “This new Governing Council is deeply committed to driving the HIV response on the many fronts that will require our attention, not least the remaining challenge of widespread stigma and discrimination.”

About Adeeba Kamarulzaman

A graduate of Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, trained in Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases, Adeeba Kamarulzaman is currently Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Malaya, an Adjunct Associate Professor at Yale University, USA. She established the Infectious Diseases Unit at the University of Malaya Medical Centre and, in 2008, the Centre of Excellence for Research in AIDS (CERiA) at the same university.

As convener of the Malaysian Harm Reduction Working Group of the Malaysian AIDS Council, she successfully advocated for the implementation of harm reduction measures to tackle HIV amongst people who inject drugs in Malaysia. She was President of the Malaysian AIDS Council from 2006 to 2010 where she remains an Executive Committee member. She also serves as Chairwoman of the Malaysian AIDS Foundation.

Adeeba Kamarulzaman has been involved in several regional and international organizations including TREAT Asia, the International Society of Infectious Diseases, and was Co-Chair of the WHO Strategic and Technical Advisory Committee on HIV and is presently a member of the UNAIDS Advisory Group. She was the Scientific Co-Chair of the 18th International AIDS Conference in Vienna in 2010 and local chair of the 7th IAS Conference on HIV Pathogenesis, Treatment and Prevention (now IAS Conference on HIV Science) in Kuala Lumpur in 2013. In April 2015 she received an Honorary Doctorate of Laws from her alma mater, Monash University, for her outstanding achievements in medicine.

The new IAS Governing Council is composed of the following members:

  • Adeeba Kamarulzaman, Malaysia – President
  • Sharon Lewin, Australia – President-Elect
  • Jennifer Kates, United States – Treasurer
  • Anton Pozniak, United Kingdom – Immediate Past President (non-voting)
  • Kevin Osborne, Switzerland – Executive Director (non-voting)


  • Serge Paul Eholié, Côte d’Ivoire
  • Keletso Makofane, South Africa
  • Josephine Nabukenya, Uganda – new Governing Council member
  • Kenneth Ngure, Kenya – re-elected Governing Council member

Asia and the Pacific Islands

  • Ishwar Gilada, India
  • Andrew Grulich, Australia – new Governing Council member
  • Shuzo Matsushita, Japan – re-elected Governing Council member
  • Nittaya Phanuphak, Thailand


  • Andriy Klepikov, Ukraine
  • Cristina Mussini, Italy
  • Chloe Meave Orkin, United Kingdom – new Governing Council member
  • Bruno Spire, France – re-elected Governing Council member

Latin America and the Caribbean

  • Claudia Cortes, Chile – new Governing Council member
  • Beatriz Grinsztejn, Brazil
  • Omar Sued, Argentina – new Governing Council member
  • Mónica Thormann, Dominican Republic – new Governing Council member

United States and Canada

  • Adaora Adimora, United States
  • Susan Buchbinder, United States – new Governing Council member
  • Renata Sanders, United States – new Governing Council member
  • Darrell Tan, Canada – new Governing Council member

This past week has laid bare frustrations and desperation around deep-seated societal ills. Black people will continue to be at the receiving end of injustice unless society at all levels acknowledges and resolutely addresses its fault-lines.

The International AIDS Society views racism, wherever it occurs around the world, as one of the greatest threats to public health and greatest obstacles in ending AIDS.

Stigma and discrimination drive health disparities worldwide and determine whether or not someone has access to health care, effective treatment and lifesaving information to stay healthy.

We stand in solidarity with those personally facing racism and discrimination and with those calling for meaningful change. The IAS pledges to confront racism, stigma and discrimination, and contribute to ending disparities, wherever we see them.

Categories: News | Tags: | View Count: (7029) | Return

Media Contact

IAS Media Team
[email protected]