International AIDS Society announces newly elected Governing Council members

posted on

27 July 2018 (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) – The International AIDS Society (IAS) has announced six newly elected and two re-elected members of the IAS Governing Council.

“The people who have been elected to the IAS Governing Council truly embody a diverse skillset and representation of backgrounds,” IAS President Anton Pozniak said. “We look forward to working with this broadly experienced and highly skilled decision-making body. Their skills, perspective and expertise can help create an intersection from which just, inclusive and innovative responses to HIV can be achieved.”

This executive body determines policy direction for the IAS and helps ensure that the organization fulfils its mission of leading collective action on every front of the global HIV response.

“This Governing Council incorporates a dynamic mix of perspectives and expertise that positions the IAS to respond to this increasingly diverse and challenging epidemic,” said incoming IAS Executive Director Kevin Osborne. “I believe that the global movement to end this epidemic requires the diversity of leadership that this Governing Council represents.”

The newly elected members of the IAS Governing Council are:


Asia and the Pacific Islands


Latin America and the Caribbean

United States and Canada

The full list of the IAS Governing Council members includes:

Anton Pozniak, United Kingdom – IAS President
Adeeba Kamarulzaman, Malaysia – IAS President-Elect
Celia DC Christie-Samuels, Jamaica – IAS Treasurer
Linda-Gail Bekker, South Africa – IAS Immediate Past President
Kevin Osborne, Switzerland – IAS Executive Director


  • Serge Paul Eholié, Côte d’Ivoire
  • James Gita Hakim, Zimbabwe
  • Keletso Makofane, South Africa
  • Kenneth Ngure, Kenya

Asia and the Pacific Islands

  • Sharon Lewin, Australia
  • Shuzo Matsushita, Japan
  • Nittaya Phanuphak, Thailand


  • Andriy Klepikov, Ukraine
  • Cristina Mussini, Italy
  • Jürgen Rockstroh, Germany
  • Bruno Spire, France

Latin America and the Caribbean

  • Beatriz Grinsztejn, Brazil
  • Russell Pierre, Jamaica
  • Horacio Salomon, Argentina
  • Luis Soto-Ramirez, Mexico

United States and Canada

  • Adaora Adimora, United States
  • Judith Auerbach, United States
  • Jennifer Kates, United States
  • Marina Klein, Canada

More information will be shared with IAS Members about the regional representatives and ways to get involved in the coming months.


About the International AIDS Society: The mission of the International AIDS Society (IAS) is to lead collective action on every front of the global HIV response through its membership base, scientific authority and convening power. Founded in 1988, the IAS is the world’s largest association of HIV professionals, with members from more than 160 countries working on all fronts of the global response to HIV. Together, we advocate and drive urgent action to reduce the global impact of HIV. The IAS is also the steward of the world’s two most prestigious HIV conferences: The International AIDS Conference and the IAS Conference on HIV Science. For more information, visit

About the International AIDS Conference: The International AIDS Conference is the largest gathering on HIV and AIDS in the world. First convened during the peak of the AIDS epidemic in 1985, it continues to provide a unique forum for the intersection of science, advocacy, and human rights. Each conference is an opportunity to strengthen policies and programmes that ensure an evidence-based response to the epidemic. The conference also serves as a focal point to intensify political and financial commitments to AIDS. The 23rd International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2020) will be hosted in San Francisco and Oakland, USA, on 6-10 July 2020. For more information, visit

Media contact
Mandy Sugrue
Director, Communications
[email protected]


Categories: Press release | Tags: | View Count: (2040) | Return

Media Contact

IAS Media Team
[email protected]